Home > Uncategorized > Our first show

Our first show

Well, the first show of You’re In The Spotlight Radio has been archived (Do they still say “it’s in the can?”).  Hear the first episode here.

It did not go as well as I would have liked.  But, here is what I learned:

First, it’s different talking to a computer screen.  As a speaker, I’m accustomed to the interaction of an audience, being able to adjust my tempo, pitch and delivery as needed.  None of that with my monitor.  You feel very much like you’re talking to yourself, instead of the audience.

Second, I am suprised how nervous I was.  I’m an experienced speaker, but felt like a fish out of water – and it showed.  I missed some of my main points and transitions and finished early.  I’m sure (hoping) that’s a problem for many newcomers.  New medium, new mistakes.  As we get out of our own comfort zone the show, and I, will get better.

Finally, I learned the value of having a guest.  I’m impressed how some radio talk show hosts can talk for an hour or more (by themselves)  and I had trouble with just 15 minutes, of which I only did 9.5.  For my test show, I interviewed a friend of mine and the show went very well.  It’s good to have someone to bounce ideas off of and be able to help carry the conversation.

Lessons learned.  And like anything else we do, it’s about practice and experience.

As Charles Osgood always says, “We’ll see you on the radio.”

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

